Starches on P2 of The hCG Protocol, by Biz

What Dr. Simeons says about starches on The hCG Protocol
By Biz

Dr. Simeons says to get the best possible results on the HCG protocal are to be obtained with a daily ration of a very small amount of starch, one breadstick (grissino) or one Melba toast.
So, he included “starches” in the diet, but also included that one that adding a small amount of starch would lead to the best possible results.

You know, I am a long time, low carber, so I know the so called “evils” of starch, but I have been reformed. I am now a low starcher.
I feel that you absolutely MUST include some sort of starch into The hCG protocol in order for it to be the most successful. Let me add this here however … if you are already on a round, don’t add starch NOW, you will most likely experience a gain. Add it when you begin a new round, use it from the beginning.

To my way of thinking, adding starch does a little something in not making us so carb-sensitive when we are coming off Phase 2. That is why I feel each and every item that he listed is important for you to eat. And yes, I know that he said “you can skip any item”, but that is a subject for another article. ::giggle::

Now, that point being made, I do NOT agree with adding Melba or Grissini as they contain wheat. And we all do know the dangers of wheat ingestion right? If not, do yourself a favor and read Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis, it will convince you. So what can you sub for the Melba or Grissini?

Let’s start by saying that when I was active on my rounds, in the beginning I ate a serving of Melba with each meal (until I learned an alternative!), because that was what I was told to do.
OK a serving of Melba is around 60 calories.

So, for the sake of argument and what I am trying to accomplish with this article, let’s say we are looking for 60 calories to sub as a starch for the day.
So let’s discuss some substitutions that will be close to the above, which it looks like around 60 calories, 11 carbs and let’s settle on 1 protein. I know that they can be “trigger” foods for some people. So try 60 calories of Rice Cakes or Corn Chips abd see how you do.
Make sure it is close to what two servings of Melba or Grissini would be. Close. Not exact, but close enough that it wouldn’t make that big of a difference. Know what I mean?

When you start your round like this, I believe that it helps stabilize you in the end.

If you have used any of these safe starches while on The hCG Protocol, please comment below. Or, if you have any questions, feel free to use the comment box.

Leave a Reply

